Induction of New Tribes

Spiritual Leader………………………………………… Chester Whiteman, Cheyenne & Arapaho Tribes of Oklahoma
Board of Directors Rep……………………………………………….. Jason Baldes, ITBC Secretary, Eastern Shoshone

Fond du Lac Band of Lake Superior Chippewa Indians
The Fond du Lac is one of six Chippewa Indian Bands that make up the Minnesota Chippewa
Tribe. The Fond du Lac Reservation was established by the La Pointe Treaty of 1854.
Archaeologists, however, maintain that ancestors of the present-day Chippewa (Ojibwe) have
resided in the Great Lakes area since 800 A.D. Today, their Band includes over 4,200 members.
The Ojibwe name for the Fond du Lac Reservation is “Nagaajiwanaang”, which means “where
the water stops.” The Fond du Lac Reservation is located near Cloquet, MN with the land base
located mainly in Carlton and Saint Louis Counties, MN 20 miles east of Duluth.

Grand Portage Band of Lake Superior Chippewa
The Grand Portage Band of Lake Superior Chippewa is one of the six bands making up the
federally recognized Minnesota Chippewa Tribe, it was established as part of an 1854 treaty. The
population is 557 members. Grand Portage Band Reservation is in Crook County near the tip of
Minnesota’s Arrowhead Region, the northeast part of the state, the land area is 74.396 sq mi.

Iowa Tribe of Kansas and Nebraska
The Iowa Tribe of Kansas and Nebraska are based on its federally established reservation covering
approximately 12,038 acres across portions of Brown County and Doniphan County in Northeast
Kansas and Richardson County in Southeast Nebraska. The reservation was established and
modified pursuant to a series of treaties, with the current boundaries established in the Treaty of
March 6, 1861. The Iowa Tribe of Kansas and Nebraska currently controls approximately 4,860
acres of its reservation with most of this land held in trust. The population is 2,258.

Peoria Tribe of Indians of Oklahoma
The Peoria Tribe of Indians of Oklahoma is a confederation of Kaskaskia, Peoria, Piankeshaw
and Wea Indians united into a single tribe in 1854. The tribes which constitute The Confederated
Peorias, as they then were called, originated in the lands bordering the Great Lakes and drained
by the mighty Mississippi. Today they are enrolled in the federally recognized Peoria Tribe of
Indians of Oklahoma. Historically, they were part of the Illinois Confederation. The population is

Seneca Nation of Indians
The Seneca Nation of Indians, self-name Onödowa’ga:’ (“People of the Great Hill”), North
American Indians of the Iroquoian linguistic group who lived in what is now western New
York state and eastern Ohio. They were Composed of eight clans – Turtle, Bear, Wolf, Beaver,
Snipe, Heron, Deer and Hawk. The Seneca Nation of Indians are said to have been released by
the Creator from beneath a mountain and prospered as the People of the Great Hill. The Seneca
Nation of Indians has a total enrollment of over 7,800 members and holds title to five reservations
in New York – Cattaraugus, Allegany, Oil Spring, Niagara, and Buffalo. Included on the Allegany
Reservation is the City of Salamanca, known as the “only city in the world entirely on an Indian